Help! A Drunk Driver Hit me! Next Steps to Take After the Accident
According to the State of Nevada Office of Traffic Safety, 451 people were arrested for driving under the influence in Nevada in 2018, down by just under 20 percent from 2017. Unfortunately, although incidences of arrest of drunk drivers appear to be dropping, people are still getting behind the wheel of a car when they are under the influence, leading to needless death and injury, injury lawyers of Nevada report. There are specific steps you should take if you are ever involved in an accident with someone who was impaired.
After car accidents in Las Vegas involving a drunk driver, the first thing you need to do is to seek medical treatment. Even if you are not initially sure if you suffered a serious injury, keep in mind that adrenaline can mask pain. This means that the excitement of the accident can prevent your body from realizing that you have been hurt. If there is an ambulance on the scene, allow the EMTs to document what they see and how you feel and ride to the hospital for additional testing. Be sure to keep all paperwork you are given at the hospital. As soon as possible, make an appointment with your family doctor, who will be able to identify any additional injuries that may have become evident after the crash.
It cannot be stressed enough how vital retaining documentation after an accident with a drunk driver can be. You will want to keep any information regarding lost time at work, treatment for injuries, expenses you have incurred as a result of the accident, like rental cars or other property damage, and more. Photos of the accident and a police report are also critical in filing a claim against someone who was driving under the influence, injury lawyers of Nevada say. This documentation will be used by the insurance companies to decide on settlement amounts.
Contact an Attorney
After drunk driving car accidents in Las Vegas, it is critical to speak to an attorney. Nevada is a comparative negligence state. This means that, even in a drunk driving accident, if you are determined to be at fault in any way, your compensation can be reduced by that percentage. For example, if you failed to yield the right-of-way in the accident, you may be deemed 20 percent at fault in the accident even though the other driver was under the influence. This means a $10,000 compensation could be reduced by $2,000. If your fault is 50 percent or more, you could receive no compensation under Nevada law. Injury lawyers of Nevada will fight to be sure your rights are protected under the law for you to receive the compensation you are entitled to receive.
If you or a loved one has been injured in car accidents in Las Vegas with a drunk driver, contact the Schnitzer Law Firm. You can arrange for a no-obligation consultation by calling 702-960-4050 or emailing Contact@theschnitzerlawfirm.com. You can also fill out the secure online form to chat with an injury professional today.