Protecting Your Rights: Understanding Workers’ Compensation Laws in Nevada
Many workers in Nevada may be concerned about their rights to file for workers’ compensation if they are injured on the job. Under state law, all private businesses that employ one or more workers must carry workers’ comp insurance. This coverage pays for lost wages, medical bills and disability expenses for workers who were hurt as a result of a workplace accident or injury. Because these benefits can be critical, it is important for you to protect yourself and your rights.
Can I Be Fired for Seeking Workers’ Comp?
Nevada law forbids employers from firing employees in retaliation for making a workers’ compensation claim. However, employees must perform the alternate, light-duty work that they are assigned by their employer, even if the tasks seem pointless, boring or dull. A doctor will establish the restrictions necessary for an injured worker receiving benefits, and the employer must accommodate these restrictions. If you refuse to complete this light duty work, however, you could lose your job – and your compensation and benefits. If you feel you are being retaliated against for filing a workers’ compensation claim, a personal injury law firm Las Vegas can review your case and advise you of your rights.
Is the Employer Trying to Push Me Out?
If you’ve been fired because you filed a workers’ compensation claim, you can turn to an injury attorney Las Vegas for help. This action is against the law. However, some employers who want to avoid being accountable for workplace injuries may fabricate other reasons to terminate your employment. Because only permanent light duty jobs are protected from being subject to ridicule or embarrassment, some employers may try to push people out with inappropriate work.
What Should I Do If I Get Hurt at Work?
Under the law, you have seven days to notify your employer about the injury to protect your access to maximum benefits. You also have 90 days to file your workers’ comp claim if you missed work due to the injury or needed to seek medical treatment. These benefits can include medical bills, equipment, prescription coverage, rehabilitation expenses, and temporary or permanent partial or total disability. After your claim is filed, the insurer has 30 days to accept the claim or deny it. While receiving workers’ compensation benefits often includes a waiver of the right to sue, you have options if your claim is denied or your benefits unfairly reduced.
Workplace accidents and injuries can be not only physically painful but also deeply worrying, especially if you rely on your job to make ends meet. If you’ve been injured on the job and aren’t being treated fairly by your employer or the insurance company, turn to a top personal injury law firm Las Vegas. The Schnitzer Law Firm has the experience and proven track record to evaluate your case and advise you of your next steps. Call our office at 702-960-4050 or complete our simple online form to set up a consultation with no obligations.