Rules about what people involved in Las Vegas car accidents are supposed to do are not complicated. Rules for Las Vegas traffic accidents are universal, as are driving rules in general.
- Don’t pass a school bus if its red lights are flashing.
- Always yield to pedestrians.
- Always drive on the right side of the road.
- And others.
Having Las Vegas car accidents automatically involves legal obligations for the drivers involved.
Drivers in Car Accidents Have Legal Duties
Most people know that if they are involved in a car accident, they must stop at the crash scene, whether it involves injury or property damage only. Some specific duties drivers have in Nevada when involved in a car crash include:
- Crashes involving death or personal injury require the driver or drivers involved to immediately stop at or close to the scene and remain at or near the location.
- When stopping at the crash scene, drivers should not obstruct traffic, if possible.
- In non-injury crashes involving damage to a vehicle or property, vehicles that can move should not create a hazard by obstructing traffic.
- Anyone who does not immediately stop at the scene of a crash involving death or injury is guilty of a felony and will be punished by imprisonment in the state prison. The minimum term of imprisonment is two years and will impose a maximum period of 20 years along with a fine of at least $2,000 but not more than $5,000.
- Unless a police officer investigates the crash, drivers in car accidents must report it to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles within ten days if it involved injury, death, or property damage of at least $750.
If you are involved in Las Vegas traffic accidents, you will want to take other actions. One is to call a personal injury lawyer in Las Vegas, NV. A Las Vegas law firm will obtain the accident report that will show the following:
- Name and address of the insurance companies providing coverage
- The number of each policy
- The dates coverage began and will end
Failing to report a crash or giving a false report is a severe offense that can suspend the person’s driving privilege.
Car Accident Laws in Nevada and Insurance
By law, all drivers in Nevada must purchase auto insurance. Such insurance provides financial protection for you and your road vehicles from loss, physical damage, and personal injury liability from a traffic collision, theft, or other losses.
Minimum auto liability insurance requirements in Nevada include:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to death per person per accident
- $50,000 coverage per accident
- $20,000 in property damage per accident
Other types of auto insurance coverage available include:
- Collision for damage to your vehicle resulting from a crash, regardless of fault. This coverage provides for the repair of the damage to your car. Or, it will give a money payment to cover your loss.
- Comprehensive insures you against theft or other damage to your vehicle from causes other than collisions, such as wind, hail, falling objects, fire, flood, or vandalism.
- Medical Payments (Medpay) pays for treating injuries to you and your passengers regardless of fault.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage helps pay medical expenses when the at-fault drivers do not have insurance or enough coverage.
If you or a loved one is involved in a Las Vegas car accident, call the personal injury lawyer in Las Vegas, NV people depend on for professional, skilled, and complete representation, The Schnitzer Law Firm.
What is GAP Insurance?
Gap insurance is optional car insurance coverage, and it helps pay the gap between the depreciated value of your car and what you still owe for it. You might consider GAP insurance if:
- You owe more than the car is worth. Typical auto insurance policies cover the depreciated value of a vehicle. If you buy a new car, it begins losing value as soon as it leaves the car lot.
- You financed the car over 60 months or longer.
- You “rolled over” negative equity from one car loan into the new loan.
- And more
GAP insurance is not required, but it is relatively inexpensive.
How to Handle Your Car Wreck Claim
In Nevada, the person at fault for a car wreck pays for all losses, including medical expenses, lost wages, and other damages. If you are injured in a car wreck, you may:
- File a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance
- File a claim with your insurance to pay for losses your policy covers
- Call a personal injury lawyer in Las Vegas, NV to represent you
An experienced Las Vegas law firm knows how insurance companies work and present your claim to obtain the most compensation you deserve.
Call or Click Today
When people have car accidents in Las Vegas, they rely on the best Las Vegas law firm, The Schnitzer Law Firm. Find out more online at https://theschnitzerlawfirm.com/ or call (702) 960-4050 and request your FREE consultation.